Dedicated Page Complaint

Right of Reply

28 April 2003


Mr R Burchell
TO: rightofreply@clik2complaints.co.uk

Without Prejudice

REF: 509XXX BURCHELL

Dear Mr Burchell,

We acknowledge your complaint, which was brought to our attention by clik2complaints.

We note that this is the first time that you have brought such concerns to our attention. With our normal complaints procedure clients are asked to forward any concerns to our Head Office within 28 days of their return, these will subsequently be investigated and a letter posted to the client when our investigations are complete.

We understand that you expected Air conditioning to be available to your parties free of charge at the Sivila Studios. We were concerned to learn of this assumption as we clearly advertise this accommodation to provide the facility of Air Conditioning subject to a local charge. We state this in both our brochure and on the View Data booking system and as follows is a print out of the accommodation description;

VIEWDATA MESSAGE
*** NO RESTAURANT ****30/8
IN AFANDOU WITH OWN GARDEN,10MINS WALK
FROM BEACH AND 30-40 MINS WALK AWAY FROM
MAIN VILLAGE.OWN SWIMMING POOL, 24HR RECEPTION
AREA, PLAY AREA AND SAFETY DEPOSIT BOXES LOCAL
CHARGE.ALL STUDIOS HAVE PRIVATE SHOWER/WC
GREEK STYLE KITCHENETTE,A/C IN ALL ROOMS LOCAL CHARGE
ALSO WITH BALCONY OR SHARED PATIO AREA.

We are sorry to learn that you were faced with a flight delay or both your outbound and return journey. We appreciate the inconvenience that this may have caused however flights are subject to alterations and it is unfortunate that we cannot guarantee the exact scheduled departure of any flight, as there are many uncontrollable factors that may affect flight departures. As you are aware we were experiencing some problems with Transjet at the beginning of last season and some passengers were faced with flight delays and as a result of this Golden Sun took action and re-protected our Transjet flight program.

We note from your comments that you were not contacted with regard to an apology or an offer of compensation for expenses incurred during your delay. This is not standard practice, as minor flight delays are a common occurrence throughout the Travel Industry. Additionally if clients wish to make a claim or require any explanation, they are required to write to our Head Office within 28 days of their return, as stipulated above as our complaints procedure.

We were pleased to learn that the rest of your holiday proved enjoyable and despite your disappointment, we do hope that the matters raised would not deter you from travelling with Golden Sun Holidays again.

Yours sincerely,

Lauren Dean
Customer Services




Dedicated Page Complaint